Bradgate Park Trademark Logo

Bradgate Park was first enclosed as a deer park around 800 years ago. It provides 830 acres of publicly accessible countryside close to Leicester City Centre.

The Park offers a wild and rugged landscape with dramatic rocky outcrops and gnarled old oak trees, many of which are well over 500 years old. The landscape offers some of the finest views, and is rich in change throughout the seasons. 

If you do not fancy exploring the hills, the lower part of the Park is easily accessible, with a tarmac carriage-way running through this area, that is suitable for wheelchairs and pushchairs. Our Visitor Centre is in the heart of the Park, alongside the carriage-way at the Deer Barns, where you will also find one of our two Tearooms. 

The Centre is free and open every day, thanks to support by our Visitor Experience Volunteer Guides. The exhibitions tell the story of the Bradgate Estate and its fascinating natural and human history.

Map of Bradgate Park showing car parks, visitor information and access areas.

Map of Bradgate Park showing access

Copies of this map, can be obtained from the Bradgate Park Shop, the Visitor Centre, The Deer Barn Tearoom and the Estate Office, or can be dowloaded. 


The River Lin and Little Matlock 

The River Lin and Little Matlock

The River Lin, Leicestershire's shortest river, runs through the Lower Park and is a popular spot to sit and picnic ,or just sit and watch the deer while children paddle in the shallows. The River, which is protected as a Site of Special Scientific Interest, is rich in wildlife. The Victorians created the shallow waterfalls to clear the silt from the water, as the river feeds Cropston Reservoir. 

Little Matlock provides an attractive walk to the heart of the Park through the 'Victorian designed landscape', with exotic plantings such as Monkey Puzzle trees. It was named 'Little Matlock' since it reflects the landscape of the Peak District. 

Old John Tower and the Yeomanry War Memorial 

Old John and the War Memorial

Old John, the 18th Century folly sits on the highest point of the Park and is one of Leicestershire’s most famous landmarks. It is often referred to as the 'Icon of Leicestershire'. The interpretation inside the Tower is dedicated to George Harry the 7th Earl of Stamford, his rather marvellous wife and the racetrack they built on the Park.

Our Visitor Experience team open the Tower for viewings on Saturday afternoons once a month between April - October.  Commencing Saturday 20 April 12:30 - 16:00.

These dates are advertised in the Walks & Activities programme, on social media or contact the Visitor Centre.

The Leicestershire Yeomanry War Memorial, which stands on the hill next to Old John, commemorates the men of the Leicestershire Yeomanry who died in the Boer War and the two World Wars.  The Memorial, erected 1924, is an obelisk containing two bronze tablets. 

The remeberance gifts left at the War Memorial

The Ruins of Bradgate House

Bradgate House as seen from the tarmac road

Bradgate House was one of the earliest brick-built country houses in England, and childhood home of Lady Jane Grey, Queen of England for Nine Days in 1553. The Ruins are protected as a Scheduled Ancient Monument by Historic England. The Charity is working with local archaeologists and universities to discover more about the rich stories and heritage they tell us.

Our Visitor Experience Tour Guides operate FREE guided tours of the ruins between Easter - October Monday till Friday. Departing from the MEETING POINT sign next to the carriageway in front of the ruins at 11:30 and 14:30.

The Tour - Queens, Earls and Armies - explores the colourful characters of Bradgate Park and their impact on the building and destruction of Old Bradgate House.  From Elizabeth Woodville through to the Greys, the Earl's of Stamford and the armies of WWII.

Public access into the ruins April - October every Saturday, Sunday and Bank Holiday Monday 10:00am - 17:00pm

The Deer Herd

Rutting deer in the Park with Old John as a backdrop

The first written reference to a deer park at Bradgate is from 1241. The Park supports, Red and Fallow deer, with a herd size of around 550 animals, of which three quarters are Fallow deer.

Throughout the year our team lead guided walks, that help people understand more these wild animals. This includes summer 'Young Deer' walks and also some in the rutting season in October.  

The Bradgate Park herds are wild deer and a large area of the Park is kept as a sanctuary for them, with no public access.  As the deer roam free and mix with visitors, we remind everyone to keep their distance from these wild animals and take extra care when visiting with dogs and young children.  

Take a virtual tour of Bradgate Park. Please note this content will open in a new window. The tour will work on both iPADs and Android (v4)  Tablets.   It will not work correctly on mobile phones due to the interactive design. Virtual Tour of Bradgate Park

Take a Virtual Tour